Spanning DVD Spines

Discussion in 'How to: Q&A' started by XR8FalconSBR, Jun 15, 2008.

1. XR8FalconSBR

XR8FalconSBR Member Member

Hey guys.

Just wondering if there is anyone able to work on a tutorial to teach nubs like me how to do a wallpaper effect over the spines of the dvd cover? I have seen some really good work out there and would like to give it a shot of my own.

Thanks,

XR8

2. Imail724

Imail724 New Member Member

Anyone know how to do this? I'd really like to make one two. I'm currently trying to do it with photoshop and trying to figure it out along the way, but is there any software made for this kind of thing?

3. rickssg

rickssg Freshman Designer

I'm pretty sure that there is no software available to do this. I believe that most people kind of figured it out on their own. I have done exactly one spanning spine cover set, so I'm not an expert, but I think mine came out OK. Also, I have tweaked one set that I downloaded to make it look better at the transitions.

It would be easy if the edges of DVD cases had sharp corners. Then you would just slice up the image into spine-width chunks and be done. But those blasted corners are curved rather than sharp, and that's what makes the process less straight-forward.