Best DVD-R

Discussion in 'Technology' started by khbg12006, Apr 11, 2006.

1. khbg12006

khbg12006 New Member Member

Hi
    what do people use in software to copy dvds and what type of dvd do you use for best performance?
    I use datawrite for the disk and DVD Shrink to copy with nero
    Is it the best or ,what do you lot think out there:

2. ApolloOne

ApolloOne Site Moderator Staff Member Site Staff

For copying DVDs, I use DVD Decrypter. It's truly goof-proof, and when copying dual layer discs, it maintains the correct layer break. It's not part of your question, but when burning discs that I've authored myself, I use GEAR or Nero for single layer and GEAR alone for dual layer.

As for media, I've been using Verbatim for over six years and I wouldn't use anything else (single or dual layer). Extremely reliable.

3. woodnotes

woodnotes New Member Member

I wouldn't necessarily go for a 'brand' of media as this means very little these days. It is important to find the dye type.

If you are in the UK, try using http://svp.co.uk/ for your discs, as it lists the DYE CODE so you can find the original manufacturer of the disc before it is re-branded by the likes of Datawrite or Verbatim.

For the very best quality, I like Taiyo Yuden (TYG03), found in their own brand and Panasonic - they are much more expensive but you'll never get a coaster - especially with a Plextor drive!

Slightly cheaper but also almost as reliable is Mitsubishi (MCC 03RG20) found in some Datawrite discs.

4. Lamonic

Lamonic New Member Member

I've been using all kind of media types so far, but must really say that i've had the best results with Verbatim DVD-R... You have to be beware of fakes though... as woodnotes mentioned search for the "MCC 03RG20" manufactoring code....

5. Enigma

Enigma New Member Member

Discs that are labelled as made in Japan will typically give you excellent burns. Typically these are Verbatims or Taiyo Yuden.

6. J0nn0

J0nn0 New Member Designer